New Lambton Public School

Quality education in a caring environment

Telephone02 4957 1511

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.

At New Lambton Public School, our learning programs include whole-class, group and individual activities designed to develop thinking skills, support the development of positive relationships and teach learning skills needed for schooling and later life.

There are six Key Learning Areas taught in NSW Primary Schools. These are English, Mathematics, History and Geography, Science and Technology, Personal Development, Health and Physical Education and Creative Arts. NESA (formerly BOSTES) has produced a useful guide to aid parents in their understanding of the K-6 syllabus documents. Please check Parents guide to the NSW primary syllabuses for more information.